8 out of 14 LGA  Chairmen of APC in Zamfara announced defection to the ruling PDP And Democracy was not in Danger like IMO state

Eight out of the 14 Local Government Area Council chairmen on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), in Zamfara have announced their defection to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

This was contained in a statement signed by Zailani Bappa, Special Adviser (Media) to Gov. Bello Matawalle and made available to journalists in Gusau on Saturday.

Bappa said the defectors include the chairman of the state’s branch of the Association of Local Government Chairmen of Nigeria (ALGON) and Chairman of Birnin-Magaji local government, Alhaji Muhammad Umar.

Others are the ALGON vice-chairman and Chairman of Maru local government, Alhaji Salisu Dangulbi and the association’s Secretary and Chairman of Bukkuyum local government, Alhaji Nasiru Zarumi.

Also on the list are Chairman of Anka local government and PRO of the association, Alhaji Ahmed Balarabe, Chairman of Kaura-Namoda local government, Alhaji Lawal Abdullahi, chairman of Maradun local government, Alhaji Shehu Faru, as well as the chairmen of Bungudu and Tsafe local governments, Alhaji Abduaziz Nahuche and Alhaji Aminu Mudi respectively.

He said the announcement by the eight chairmen was the outcome of a meeting they held with the governor, Alhaji Bello Matawalle on Saturday in Gusau.

The statement quoted the association’s spokesman and Chairman of Anka local government, Alhaji Ahmed Balarabe as saying their decision to join the ruling PDP in the State was as a result of Gov Matawalle’s leadership style in restoring peace and tranquility to all parts of the state within a short period

Leave a Reply