Follow us LIVE tonight: Africa’s World Cup qualifying second round draw takes place today

Draw for the second round of African qualifying takes place on Tuesday 21 January

40 teams in contention, including 14 sides who progressed from first round

Follow event with live video streaming on and FIFA TV’s YouTube Channel

A total of 54 African nations will take part in the qualifying phase of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™, but only five of them will get to represent their continent at the next edition of football’s flagship event. After the first round of fixtures, which were streamed live on FIFA websit  last September, 40 selections are still in the running to represent the Mother Continent in Qatar.

On 21 January 2020, the draw for the second round of CAF’s qualifying competition will be held in Cairo. Once again, you will be able to follow everything with our live streaming on, where you can already find key information about the draw while waiting to see what fate has in store for the participating teams.

The draw in brief

When: 21 January 2020, 7:00 p.m. (local time) / 6:00 p.m. (CET)

Where: Cairo, Egypt

Live video streaming available on and FIFA TV’s YouTube channel

Please note: The live broadcast will not available in Algeria, Bahrain, Belarus, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, IR Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.


The 14 first-round winners join the top 26 African teams (based on the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of December 2019) in the second round.

These 40 teams will be divided into 10 groups of four.

In each group, the teams will play each other home and away in a mini-league format.

The ten group winners will progress to the third and final round, which will feature five two-legged play-off ties.

The five winners of these play-offs qualify for Qatar 2022.

Ahead of the draw, the 40 teams are divided into four pots.

The pots are based on the teams’ World Ranking as of December 2019. The top 10 ranked teams go into Pot 1, the next 10 in Pot 2, and so on.

Leave a Reply